2013 Week 2 NFL Picks!

The best part about week 1 being over? We still have sixteen weeks of regular season football left. My week 1 predictions went okay. I went 10-6 (62.5%). While this is not a satisfying record on any given week, it is decent for week 1 because it is a harder week to pick. There is obviously still plenty of time for me to climb up towards my record of picking 70% by the end of the regular season. I did want to congratulate three players who were able to successfully beat me this week in my ESPN Pick’Em challenge. Props to PatJr221, FGCU_eagle2014, and MakaylaBrooks who all beat me this week. As I said, this is a very tough week to pick games and they deserve a lot of credit. Details on how you can compete are at the bottom of this blog post. Right now, though, it’s time to step it up. No more excuses. Week 1 is over. Here are the week 2 NFL picks:

New York Jets (1-0) vs. New England Patriots (1-0) (Thursday at 8:25 PM ET)- Congratulations, Jets. You beat the Buccaneers by one point. Jets fans, buy your Super Bowl tickets now. They’re selling out fast. In all reality, it’s not the Jets who played well last week. It was the Bucs who played sloppy. Geno Smith might be better than Mark Sanchez, but that offense is still far from adequate. The Patriots, on the other hand, have themselves a quality offense. While them only beating the Bills by a field goal was a little surprising, I still believe that this is a playoff team and they should demolish the Jets on Thursday night. Winner: Patriots

The following games are on Sunday at 1:00 PM ET:

St. Louis Rams (1-0) vs. Atlanta Falcons (0-1)- The Rams remain a team who are still developing, and a team who I think won’t realistically have enough to reach the postseason. They definitely have some young talent with quarterback Sam Bradford and rookie wide receiver Tavon Austin. However, I just don’t think 2013 is quite their year. The story is different for the Falcons. This is their time to shine. With quarterback Matt Ryan, running back Steven Jackson, two great wide receivers, a veteran tight end, and a solid defense, it’s a Super-Bowl-or-bust year in Atlanta. After taking a tough loss last week, I expect them to fully rebound this week. Winner: Falcons

San Diego Chargers (0-1) vs. Philadelphia Eagles (1-0)- While the Chargers almost pulled off the upset against the elite Texans last week, I still don’t like this team. Their quarterback Philip Rivers is often inconsistent, they lack a solid receiving crew, and their running back Ryan Matthews is just mediocre. As much as I hate to admit this next part, the Eagles actually looked pretty good on Monday night. I’m not saying that the Eagles aren’t talented. They have a very good running back in LeSean McCoy, a good wide receiver in DeSean Jackson, and a very athletic quarterback in Michael Vick. However, it is Vick’s inconsistency and stats that get me concerned about this team. I’m not saying that head coach Chip Kelly can’t make the offense work, I’m just saying that if Vick is your quarterback, it could be hard. This is a tough pick. However, the Philadelphia has more talent, they’re at home, and they actually looked pretty good in week 1. Winner: Eagles

Dallas Cowboys (1-0) vs. Kansas City Chiefs (1-0)- I really don’t mean to hate on the Cowboys, but I think it was a Giants loss more than a Dallas win last week. However, Tony Romo and the crew did get a win to start out the season and that cannot be taken away. I think that the Cowboys are a talented squad with Romo, running back DeMarco Murray, wide receiver Dez Bryant, and tight end Jason Witten. However, it’s the inconsistency of Romo that always keeps me worried. They’re playing the Chiefs this week who looked solid against a bad Jaguars team last week. I really like this team with quarterback Alex Smith, head coach Andy Reid, and we cannot forget that Jamaal Charles is one heck of a running back. If the talent that the Chiefs have clicks, I would not rule them out the playoffs by any means. This is a tough pick. It all goes back to Romo and whether or not he can get the job done. I’m going to say that Kansas City does well for the second week in a row and squeaks out a home victory. Winner: Chiefs

Miami Dolphins (1-0) vs. Indianapolis Colts (1-0)- The Dolphins are in the same boat as the Rams. They have young talent in quarterback Ryan Tannehill and running back Lamar Miller, they have a good wide receiver in Mike Wallace, but I just don’t think that this truly their year. The Colts also have young talent in second year quarterback Andrew Luck. However, Luck is simply a better QB than Tannehill and it makes all the difference in separating these two teams. This should be a pretty fun game to watch, but the better team comes out on top. Winner: Colts

Tennessee Titans (1-0) vs. Houston Texans (1-0)- Not to take anything away from Jake Locker and the Titans, but I think that the Steelers played very poorly in their win. I think that Tennessee has some young, potential talent with Locker and their receivers. They also have a pretty solid running game with Chris Johnson. However, I still do not think they will have enough to make the postseason. The Texans are a different story. I do expect them to make the playoffs. They’re well-balanced, talented, and a very good team all the way around. With quarterback Matt Schaub, running back Arian Foster, and wide receiver Andre Johnson leading the way, I think Houston will get the easy home win. Winner: Texans

Washington Redskins (0-1) vs. Green Bay Packers (0-1)- Robert Griffin III and the Redskins weren’t quite on their A game at all times Monday night. I’m not sure if this is because of Griffin’s injury or because they just got beat, but the loss does not take away my liking of this team. They have numerous, young talent with Griffin, running back Alfred Morris, and wide receiver Pierre Garcon. I do expect some inconsistency but I at least think they will contend be playoff contenders. The Packers also lost last week, but because it was with the 49ers, I have no concerns. Aaron Rodgers and all of his powerful receiver weapons make this team one of the NFL’s best. Veteran talent beats the young. Winner: Packers

Cleveland Browns (0-1) vs. Baltimore Ravens (0-1)- Watching the Browns last week did not give me a lot of optimism on their future. Despite the talents of young running back Trent Richardson, quarterback Brandon Weeden and this team still have a long way to go before they can even start thinking about the playoffs. Despite a tough loss to Denver, I think that the Ravens should think about the postseason. I believe that the Broncos are the best team in the NFL and there really is no shame in losing to them on the road. The Ravens just need to keep their head high, and with talent at quarterback, running back, and even wide receiver with Torrey Smith, I expect them to take care of business here. Winner: Ravens

Carolina Panthers (0-1) vs. Buffalo Bills (0-1)- I’ve done my research and it seems that the problem for the Panthers is that they just don’t have many weapons to help out Cam Newton. Unless someone else truly steps up for this team, I  don’t think that they’re going to win many games with the players that they have. That last statement holds true for the Bills. Even though E.J. Manuel and company kept things surprisingly close against New England, I’m not sure that Manuel is the future of this team and I’m almost certain that this isn’t their year. While the Bills do have an elite running back in C.J. Spiller, I’m going to say that Cam Newton, Steve Smith, DeAngelo Williams, and Carolina do just enough to get the road win. Winner: Panthers

Minnesota Vikings (0-1) vs. Chicago Bears (1-0)- If the Vikings didn’t have Adrian Peterson, they would be among the worst teams in the league. The guy carries them in every game and I think that people fail to realize just how bad Christian Ponder and their passing game really is. They’re playing the Bears this week who looked quite impressive against Cincinnati in week 1. If head coach Marc Trestman can get quarterback Jay Cutler and the rest of the offense team to stay consistent, they really could be a playoff threat. With a fantastic defense, I expect them to shut down the passing game, limit AP, and get their second victory in as many games. Winner: Bears

The following games are on Sunday at 4:05 PM ET:

New Orleans Saints (1-0) vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0-1)- Sean Payton is back. So are the Saints. Drew Brees and the crew looked very impressive in a home win against the Falcons last week. I had this team grabbing a wild card spot in the preseason but I would not be too surprised if they were able to steal the division title. If the offensive production continues and the defense is able to limit the points, watch out. The Buccaneers, on the other hand, did not look good this week at all. I was calling them a mediocre team before their first game but after they lost to the Jets, I’m not so sure. I think they have some talent with Doug Martin at running back, and Vincent Jackson at wide receiver. However, whether or not quarterback Josh Freeman can make things click is a big question mark for me. In this game, I think they’ll get blown out by a very good-looking club. Winner: Saints

Detroit Lions (1-0) vs. Arizona Cardinals (0-1)- The Lions got a nice win over the Vikings last week. If Matthew Stafford can find his talent and use Calvin Johnson to his advantage, the Lions could be a playoff team, especially with Reggie Bush at running back. The Cardinals looked improved last week against the Rams. However, even though Larry Fitzgerald has a veteran quarterback and they now have Rashard Mendenhall, I don’t realistically expect them to contend. Since this game is in Arizona, I expect it to be tight, but I think that Stafford and the crew will have a little too much. Winner: Lions

The following games are on Sunday at 4:25 PM ET:

Jacksonville Jaguars (0-1) vs. Oakland Raiders (0-1)- This has to be one of the dullest match-ups of the season. On one side, you’ve got the Jaguars who looked like a disaster against the Chiefs last week and who will have Chad Henne starting under center in this game. They do have a decent running back in Maurice Jones-Drew and some young receivers with potential, but this team is easily one of the worst in the NFL. Those last few words go for the Raiders as well. They kept things relatively close last week against the Colts, but with Terrelle Pryor at quarterback, they are not a team that should be brought up in the postseason conversation. This is a coin flip pick that could really go either way. However, because of them staying competitive last week and because they’re at home, I’m going to take Oakland in a very ugly game. Winner: Raiders

Denver Broncos (1-0) vs. New York Giants (0-1)- Peyton Manning and the Broncos looked absolutely amazing last Thursday, and they are confirming my beliefs on them being the best team in the NFL. One of the best quarterbacks in the game, some great receivers, and a pretty decent running game make this team spell “elite”. The Giants, on the other hand, are not elite. Sunday night was a perfect example of how they play. One second they look terrible, committing numerous turnovers. The next, quarterback Eli Manning is throwing the ball like there is no tomorrow. However, in the end, they did lose to the Cowboys, and these loses and inconsistent play are really beginning to scare me and make me lose confidence. You never really know what to expect in a game like this, but I think that Denver will have too much talent and consistency. Winner: Broncos

San Francisco 49ers (1-0) vs. Seattle Seahawks (1-0) (Sunday at 8:30 PM ET)- The 49ers looked fantastic last week against the Packers. Colin Kaerpernick was on top of his game, his receivers were pulling through, and Frank Gore was doing a very nice job on the ground. This team is clearly among the NFL’s best and I have them going all the way to the Super Bowl. The Seahawks are also a good team, although they didn’t look quite as impressive last week against the Panthers. I still like all the talent they have with second year quarterback Russell Wilson and running back Marshawn Lynch. If they can be consistent, this is almost certainly a true wild card team. However, to me, San Francisco’s talent clearly overrules Seattle’s, especially with the way they played last week. I’m aware that the Seahawks can be incredible at home, but I’ll take the road team in an exciting, prime-time game. Winner: 49ers

Pittsburgh Steelers (0-1) vs. Cincinnati Bengals (0-1) (Monday at 8:40 PM ET)- The Steelers are rapidly dropping down the NFL standings. Ben Roethlisberger and the crew did not play well at all against the Titans. Their lack of receivers and now running game is a serious concern, and someone has to emerge quickly if this team wants a chance to make the playoffs. Despite a loss to the Bears last week, Andy Dalton and the Bengals looked really good last week. If Dalton can really develop that relationship with stud wide receiver A.J. Green and if the running game can produce, Cincinnati might really be able to make some noise in the playoffs. Playing a Steelers team that I’m believing in less and less with every passing second, I say they comfortably get the Monday night win. Winner: Bengals

Do you disagree with what I’m saying? Do you think I’m an idiot? Well, you can prove me wrong using the ESPN Pick’em game. You even have a chance to win a whole blog post dedicated strictly to you and a code for a $5 iTunes gift card.Details: http://sportspicker1.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/announcing-jacobs-sports-commentary-pickem-game/

2 thoughts on “2013 Week 2 NFL Picks!

  1. You should listen to yourself while you are writing and proofread. Look at the NO/TB synopsis, where the narrative clearly spells out a Saints victory, but the final line say Bucs.
    Not what I’d call a reliable source for most folks, who won’t read past the final result.

Leave a Reply

